Boreham Wood Football Club, it’s players, staff and supporters, celebrated a hugely successful season, after clinching their highest ever league finish of 8th in the Blue Square Bet South, having beaten Tonbridge Angels 4 – 2 earlier that day.

In the presence of the Town’s Lady Mayoress Sandra Parnell, the Clubs founding member and President Bill O’Neill and the Evenings guest of honour Kurt Hintz from Cohenel College. Everyone enjoyed a fabulous reception and three course meal and memorable speeches from President Bill O’Neill, Manager Ian Allinson and the Clubs Chairman Danny Hunter.

The First Team awards went to: –

  • Osei Sankofa (Chairman’s ‘Player’ of the Year)
  • Charlie O’Loughlin (Manager’s ‘Player’ of the Year)
  • Sam Cox (Player’s ‘Player’ of the Year)
  • Osei Sankofa (Player’s ‘Player’ of the Year runner up)
  • David Bryant (Supporters ‘Player’ of the Year)
  • David Bryant (Top Goalscorer)
  • Charlie Hunter (Young ‘Player’ of the Year)
  • Daniel Braithwaite (100 appearances)

A happy First Team Manager, Ian Allinson, spoke and said “These boys have thoroughly deserved their plaudits tonight. Sam Cox joined us from Barnet earlier in the season. He is one of the nicest men in football and has been exceptional in the centre of our midfield. Osei Sankofa has been invaluable and a true professional in the dressing room, on the training pitch and on a match day. Charlie O’Loughlin is a real winner. Every time he steps on to the pitch he gives 100% and this is the type of hungry young player I need if we want to progress from this division. David Bryant has also led the line for us this campaign with 12 league goals and youngsters like Charlie Hunter have stepped in when needed, showing a real maturity, although we now lose him as he begins a new chapter of his life with a scholarship in America.”

Chairman Danny Hunter went on to say “It is important not to forget our whole squad, who have had a battle up for us this season. Our dressing room has been a pleasure to deal with, they are a hard working, honest bunch of lads who have given us some truly great moments and great performances. I must also thank Luke Garrard and Mario Noto for all their efforts on the coaching side, both have been fantastic and if we keep the majority of this squad together and I can create the finances for the Gaffer, to add a few additions, we could well surprise a few people next season.”

The Chairman was upbeat and said “It is extremely important to also thank our supporters as well for their continued support and we rewarded that support by giving awards to Barry Moss and Mo Silverman who are recognised at the Awards Dinner by receiving our Supporters of the Year trophy.”

The Chairman also thanked the Clubs sponsors; Hertsmere Borough Council, Elstree & Borehamwood Town Council and Cardif Pinnacle, amongst others and the Clubs Education Partners Cohenel College and Verulam School.”

For the Reserve team awards, England College Captain Ruddock Yala won both Manager’s and Player’s Player of the Year awards. Whilst Robert Hastings, Harvey Scott-Morris and Sam Doolan also picked up awards.

The Reserve Team awards went to: –

  • Ruddock Yala (Reserves Manager ‘Player’ of the Season)
  • Ruddock Yala (Reserves Player’s ‘Player’ of the Season)
  • Robert Hastings (Reserves Player’s ‘Player’ of the Season runner up)
  • Sam Doolan (Reserves Most Improved ‘Player’ of the Season)
  • Harvey Scott-Morris (Clubman of the Year)
  • Charlie Hunter and Simeon Akinola (Reserves joint Top Goalscorers)
  • Charlie Hunter (England College Cap awarded)
  • Ruddock Yala (England College Cap awarded)

Head PASE coach, Luke Garrard, said “Our Reserve Team is a continuation of our Elite and Under 18’s squads. They have again had an exceptional season at all levels.

Luke continued “On Wednesday we play in the English Colleges National Cup Final. On Friday our Under 18’s play in the Brian Hitchings Cup Final and on Sunday we play in the Champion of Champions Cup so the Season isn’t over yet!”

The presentation was concluded with a speech from the Clubs honorary President Mr Bill O’Neill, who spoke proudly about the Club he co-founded and helped build. He thanked the present Chairman Danny Hunter for their long standing friendship and the feeling that he’s still given of being a big part of the Club’s progression. It was fitting that after 60 years of involvement and service, Bill O’Neill was given a warm and heartfelt standing ovation…


Share This