Boreham Wood Football Club are incredibly proud to announce that groundsmen Daniel Hunter and Declan Robinson were winners at the FA Groundsman of the Year Awards 2018. 

The Awards were held at St George’s Park and five clubs across the National League, National North and National South took home honours.

Aldershot Town’s Colin Wilson was the overall winner, but Hunter and Robinson were also recognised.

The Meadow Park pitch, which is also home to Arsenal Women and Arsenal development sides, was kept in immaculate condition last season, despite sometimes hosting as many as four matches a week, during the season.

Hunter and Robinson are experts in their craft and the award is a well-deserved recognition of their truly incredible efforts throughout the season.

Other winners were Charlie Kerr from Dartford, Curzon Ashton’s Nick Wild and FC United of Manchester’s Graham Byrne.

Geoff Terrell, the chairman of the FA Facilities Committee, said: “Together we recognise the valuable contribution ground staff make up and down the country in all winds and weather.

“This was truly brought home when a Q&A session lead by the Head Groundsman from Wembley and St George’s Park discussed the trials and tribulations of the recent hot weather.

“This summer has been a testament to their fortitude and experience in ensuring teams have a good surface to play on.”


Share This