Players, Staff, Sponsors, Supporters and local Dignitaries, all gathered to honour or acknowledge the highlights, failures, triumphs and achievements of our small but fantastic football club at this Season’s 2015/16 “Gala Evening”.

A Sold Out presentation was run fantastically well for the very first time by club sponsors Village Hotels Watford and the speeches, tributes and awards, were effortlessly conducted by Wood Chairman Danny Hunter, whose words showed just how significant a Season the Club has had to date and with just one league game and one cup final to go, there is still so much to play for..

The Chairman also took the players, sponsors, staff and guests, back down a memory filled last twelve months. As he revisited last years play off victories as last years top goal scorer Lee Angol returned as the clubs guest of honour..

Those memories obviously included the club beating both Havant in a play off semi and then Whitehawk 2-1 in the never to be forgotten play off final. That victory ended with us promoted to the top tier of Non-League Football for the first time in our history and led this season, to us beating clubs like Tranmere Rovers on their own patch.. Memories indeed!!!

This was the Chairman’s seventeenth season in charge and it could end up being the most successful season in the clubs 68 year history but a season of huge ups and downs. The First Team are on the verge of securing their National league status and another season at the top table of Non-League Football. Securing the Herts Senior Cup is just a victory away and with a first round proper in the FA Cup once again achieved, it’s been a season that will certainly be defined by the result at Welling United next Saturday..

On top of our first team, the Reserves currently sit top of the Suburban Premier league and the PASE Academy continues to grow, improve and develop year on year.

It was though a special award that the Club and Chairman made though, that brought about a much deserved standing ovation.. It was was presented to Peter Smith for his 50 years of dedicated service to Boreham Wood Football Club. Peter joined the club back in the summer of 1966. He has held various different roles within club from that moment on, as press officer, as match secretary, as club secretary and as an advisor but throughout he has always been a loyal club servant, an individual who’s love for his club and its history has always shone through..

Peter on receiving his award, was joined on stage by his lovely wife Beverley, who received a beautiful bouquet of flowers for being quite simply a football widow of fifty years and growing..

There were also floral tributes handed out to Loretta Browne and Ciara Dyer, who have worked tirelessly for the club throughout 2015/16.. To Glynnis Byrne, the wife of David Byrne the Principal of our Education providers Barnet and Southgate College.. To Brenda Batten from Hertsmere Borough Council for her continued Support of the Football Club and her other fantastic community work and service.. Then Finally too Mandee Morris and Lauren Garrard, the partners of club Chairman Danny Hunter and First Team Manager Luke Garrard..

On the First Team front Ricky Shakes picked up his 100 Appearance award, while Callum Reynolds and James Russell both picked up their 150 Appearance Awards.

One of the biggest cheers of the evening accompanied the announcement that James Russell had received the accolade of “Supporters Player of the Year”, which was replicated when he returned to collect the “Players Player of the Year runner up” award..

Other major award winners were the “Managers player of the year winner” which went to Conor Clifford. The top goal-scorers award which went too Jamie Lucas and to Scott Doe who won the “Chairmans player of the year” award..

In his Summary speech Chairman Danny Hunter reminded everyone as he rallied the sell out evening that we are a united club that has fought hard to be a National League club. He reminded us that we are not just a first team but a club that has over many years been built from the bottom up..

He said “We are still striving to be at the hub of our community, as he reminded the supporters and players that the job of survival this season isn’t even half done or over”.. He then reminded the audience of the importance of our travelling support and the difference they could make next week.. He spoke of the importance of calm heads throughout the club next Saturday and then finished by saying the clubs personal journey with or without him, must continue to move forward, as he asked our town, our staff, our sponsors and our supporters to help him and the dressing room to get to Welling and pull off the impossible..




“Manager’s Player of the Year”:

Winner – Conor Clifford

“Supporters Player of the Year”

Winner – James Russell

Runner-up – Danny Woodards

“Players’ Player of the Year”:

Winner – Scott Doe

Runner-up – James Russell

“Chairman’s Award”

Winner Scott Doe

“Young Player of the Year”

Winner – Junior Morias

“Top Scorer”

Winner – Jamie Lucas

“Reaching 150 First Team appearances”

James Russell & Callum Reynolds

“Reaching over 100 First Team appearances”

Ricky Shakes

“Supporter of the Year”

Winner – Craig Payne


“Manager’s Player of the Year”

Winner – Josh Coldicott-Stevens

“Players’ Player of the Year”

Winner – Frank Kieta

Runner-up – Josh Coldicott-Stevens

“Top Scorer”

Winner – Kyle Roberts

“Clubman of the Year”

Winner – Ben Goodliffe


Share This